Kazakhstan

In Kazakhstan, the freedom of assembly is regulated by the Law № 2126 “On Organizing and Conducting Peaceful Assemblies, Meetings, Marches, Picketing and Demonstrations” of March 17, 1995. Prior authorization regarding the holding of peaceful assemblies is required.

Procedure for organizing meetings

  • organizers must be citizens of Kazakhstan and be at least 18 years old;
  • a notification about the organization of a meeting shall be submitted no later than 5 working days before the date on which the planned meeting is to take place;
  • local authorities shall inform organizers of their decision within 3 working days from the date of registration of the notification;
  • organizers bear expenses for the holding of an assembly.

Hunger strikes in public places, picketing, tent installation, and setting up other structures are also considered a form of protest.

What is allowed?

Organizers and participants have the right:

  • to cover faces with masks;
  • to hold counter-demonstrations at the same time;
  • to agitate before the beginning of the event.

Restrictions on the right to freedom of assembly

It is prohibited:

  • to hold spontaneous assemblies;
  • to hold meetings in the night-time;
  • to hold demonstrations targeted against any social group or aiming to undermine the constitutional order;
  • to gather near government buildings;
  • to hold rallies near infrastructural facilities, healthcare, and educational institutions;
  • to attend assemblies carrying weapons;
  • to obstruct traffic, the work of law enforcement agencies and operation of infrastructure facilities.

Local authorities can introduce additional limitations on holding assemblies.

Liability

  • organizers can be fined up to $ 190 (up to thirty monthly calculation indices) or arrested up to 2.5 months for causing significant harm to the rights and legitimate interests of citizens, society or the state during a rally;
  • for participants there is a fine of up to $ 130 (up to twenty monthly calculation indices)
  • officials can be fined up to $ 324 (up to fifty monthly calculation indices) for unlawfully obstructing a meeting by using official position

Commentaries of experts and participants of public events

Human rights defenders and public actions’ participants from Kazakhstan note that peaceful assemblies are often held with systematic violations on the side of the authorities. They say that local authorities use their ability to determine venues for rallies independently and restrict possible places to one or two venues in the remote parts of cities or towns.

One activist says that the last rally in the country was held in 2016. One of its organizers is still behind bars. Since then, the authorities have not once given permission to hold an assembly. Police officers detain possible participants and journalists who cover the events even before rallies start.

Those interviewed note that when someone tries to appeal unlawful actions of the authorities or police officers, courts always take the side of the law enforcement and never examine evidence in defense of those who are prosecuted for their participation in public rallies.

The European Court of Human Rights has no jurisdiction over Kazakhstan, but its citizens can make complaints to The United Nations Human Rights Committee. The Committee has several times passed decisions in favour of applicants who claimed that their right to assembly had been violated. However, Kazakh authorities claim that such decisions have recommendatory power only and refuse to comply with them.

Yevgeny Zhovtis, an expert of OSCE’s Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights, notes that in 2001, the words «other public events» were added to forms of public protests that had already been mentioned in the Code of Administrative Offences of Kazakhstan. This allowed authorities to consider all public display of dissent a protest action.

Казахстан

В Казахстане свобода собраний регулируется  Законом Республики Казахстан от 25 мая 2020 года № 333-VI «О порядке организации и проведения мирных собраний в Республике Казахстан». В стране предусмотрен разрешительный порядок проведения мирных акций.

Порядок организации

  • организаторы должны иметь гражданство Казахстана и быть старше 18 лет
  • заявление об акции нужно подать не позднее чем за 5 рабочих дней до ее начала 
  • местные власти должны сообщить о решении в течение 3 рабочих дней со дня регистрации уведомления 
  • организаторы оплачивают все затраты на проведение митинга

Голодовка в общественных местах, пикеты, установка палаток и других сооружений тоже считаются формой протеста.

Разрешено

  • скрывать лица под масками
  • одновременно устраивать акции с противоположной тематикой
  • проводить агитацию до начала мероприятия

Запрещено

  • устраивать спонтанные собрания
  • устраивать акции в ночное время
  • проводить акции, направленные против какой-либо социальной группы или конституционного строя
  • собираться возле зданий государственных органов
  • проводить митинги возле объектов инфраструктуры и учреждений здравоохранения или образования
  • приходить на акцию с оружием
  • мешать работе органов правопорядка, движению транспорта и работе объектов инфраструктуры

Местные власти могут накладывать дополнительные ограничения на проведение собраний.

Ответственность

  • для организаторов предусмотрен штраф до 190 $ (до тридцати месячных расчетных показателей) или арест до 2,5 месяцев за причинение существенного вреда правам и законным интересам граждан, общества или государства во время митинга
  • для участников предусмотрен штраф до 130 $ (до двадцати месячных расчетных показателей) 
  • для должностных лиц штраф — до $324 (до пятидесяти месячных расчетных показателей) за незаконное препятствование проведению собрания с использованием служебного положения

Комментарии экспертов и участников событий

Правозащитники и участники акций из Казахстана отмечают, что мирные собрания проходят с систематическими нарушениями со стороны властей. По их словам, местные органы власти пользуются возможностью самостоятельно устанавливать места проведения митингов и ограничивают территорию одной-двумя площадками в отдалённых частях населённых пунктов.

По словам одного из активистов, последняя массовая акция в стране прошла в 2016 году. Один из ее организаторов до сих пор находится в колонии. С тех пор власти не выдали ни одного разрешения на проведение собраний. Еще до начала митингов полиция задерживает как возможных ее участников, так и журналистов, которые освещают происходящее.

Опрошенные отмечают, что при обжаловании незаконных действий со стороны властей или полиции суд всегда встает на сторону правоохранительных органов и не изучает доказательства в защиту тех, кого привлекли к ответственности за участие в митингах.

На Казахстан не распространяется юрисдикция Европейского суда по правам человека, однако граждане могут обращаться с жалобами в Комитет ООН по правам человека. Комитет несколько раз выносил решения в пользу заявителей о нарушении права на свободу собраний, однако власти Казахстана объявляют подобные решения имеющими рекомендательную силу и отказываются их выполнять.

Эксперт Бюро по демократическим институтам и правам человека ОБСЕ Евгений Жовтис отмечает, что в 2001 году в Кодекс об административных правонарушениях Казахстана к уже перечисленным формам протеста была добавлена формулировка «иные публичные мероприятия». Это позволило властям считать протестом любые публичные проявления несогласия.