Uzbekistan

In Uzbekistan, freedom of assembly is regulated by the Decree of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR No. 9306-XI of July 28, 1998, “On the Procedure for Organizing and Conducting Assemblies, Rallies, Marches and Demonstrations in the USSR”. Prior authorization regarding the holding of peaceful assemblies is required.

Procedure for organizing meetings  

  • organizers of meetings must be citizens of Uzbekistan who have reached the legal age;
  • a notification of the organization shall be submitted at least 10 days prior to the date on which the planned meeting is to take place;
  • the local authorities must process an application and communicate their decision to organizers of the meeting not later than 5 working days prior to the beginning of the event;
  • organizers do not bear any expenses for the holding of the event.

What is allowed: 

Most of the provisions that we have analyzed are missing from the Soviet decree. For instance, it does not mention the right to hold meetings nearby government buildings and courthouses, to hold meetings in the night-time, to cover faces, or hold simultaneous assemblies.

If you can provide different information, please inform us via project email: media@ovdinfo.org.

Restrictions on the right to freedom of assembly

It is prohibited: 

  • to hold spontaneous meetings without prior authorization; 
  • to organize meetings which purposes contradict norms of the constitution or endanger national security or public safety.

Liability

  • Non-compliance with the requirements for public assemblies shall entail arrest for up to 15 days or a fine in the amount of up to $234; 
  • in case of repeated violation, organizers who already have been held administratively liable shall face criminal liability in the form of a $7359 fine or imprisonment for a period of up to 3 years;  
  • There is no liability for public officials in Uzbekistan.

Penalty amount calculations are based on the federal minimum wage in Uzbekistan as of August 1, 2019 (223,000 soms).

Commentaries of experts and participants of public events 

Journalists and human rights activists from Uzbekistan consider the right to freedom of peaceful assembly to be severely limited. According to our respondents, authorities interpret public assemblies as a threat, thus do not authorize them. The law enforcement agencies suppress even those types of public expression that don’t require prior authorization, such as one-person protests. 

The human rights activists note that the last large mass assembly took place more than 10 years ago. Currently, the Uzbekistan citizens occasionally join spontaneous protests over social issues, but these assemblies get rapidly suppressed by police. Assembly activists get fined for participating in the protests; the amount of fine can reach several thousand USD.

Our respondents do not mention any cases of judicial appeal against the actions of the authorities or law enforcement agencies. They state that the Uzbekistan authorities ignore the recommendations of international human rights organizations.

Currently, the freedom of assembly in the country is subject to the decree dating back to the Soviet time, but this summer a new bill was drafted in Uzbekistan, called “On Citizen Rallies, Assemblies and Demonstrations”. Therein, much stricter limitations on holding peaceful assemblies are spelled out. For instance, the authors of the bill suggest submitting a notification about the event no later than 30 working days prior to its beginning, intend to forbid holding rallies within a 500-meter radius from the government buildings, and plan to limit the allowed time for carrying out mass assemblies to weekdays from 10 am till 5 pm.

Узбекистан

В Узбекистане свобода собраний регулируется указом президиума Верховного Совета СССР от 28 июля 1988 года № 9306-XI «О порядке организации и проведения собраний, митингов, уличных шествий и демонстраций в СССР». В стране предусмотрен разрешительный порядок проведения собраний.

Порядок организации

  • организовать собрание могут совершеннолетние граждане Узбекистана
  • заявление об акции нужно подать за 10 дней до ее начала или раньше
  • местные власти должны рассмотреть заявление и сообщить организаторам о решении не позднее чем за пять дней до начала акции
  • организаторы не несут расходы на проведение мероприятия

Разрешено

В указе времен СССР не указана большая часть норм, которые мы анализировали. Например, в документе ничего не сказано о проведении митингов у органов государственной власти и судов, ночных акциях, возможности скрывать лицо во время митинга и проведении одновременных собраний.

Если у вас есть другая информация, пожалуйста, сообщите на почту проекта почта media@ovdinfo.org.

Запрещено

  • проводить спонтанные собрания без согласования с властями
  • устраивать собрание с целями, противоречащими Конституции, или угрожающими общественному порядку и безопасности граждан

Ответственность

  • участникам и организаторам грозит арест до 15 суток или штраф до $1963 за нарушение правил проведения митинга
  • если организатор вновь нарушит правила после административного взыскания, ему может грозить уголовная ответственность: штраф до $7359 или лишение свободы на срок до трех лет
  • ответственность должностных лиц в Узбекистане отсутствует

Для расчета суммы штрафов использован минимальный размер оплаты труда в Узбекистане по состоянию на 1 августа 2019 года (223 тысячи сумов).

Комментарии экспертов и участников событий

Журналисты и правозащитники из Узбекистана считают, что право на свободу мирных собраний в стране ограничено практически полностью.

По их словами, власти считают любую публичную акцию угрозой и не выдают разрешение на их проведение. Правоохранительные органы пресекают даже те формы публичного выражения мнения, которые можно проводить без согласования, например, одиночные пикеты.

Правозащитники отмечают, что последнее крупное массовое собрание прошло больше 10 лет назад. Сейчас граждане Узбекистана изредка выходят на стихийные протесты из-за социальных проблем, однако эти акции быстро пресекаются милицией. Активистам назначают больше штрафы за участие в протестах, вплоть до нескольких тысяч долларов.

Нашим респондентам неизвестны случаи обжалования действий властей или правоохранительных органов в суде. Опрошенные утверждают, что власти Узбекистана игнорируют рекомендации международных органов по защите прав человека.


Сейчас свобода собраний в стране регулируется указом времен СССР, но летом 2019 года в Узбекистане разработали новый законопроект «О митингах, собраниях и демонстрациях граждан». В документе прописаны гораздо более строгие ограничения на проведение мирных акций. Например, авторы законопроекта предлагают подавать заявку о мероприятии не позднее чем за 30 рабочих дней до его проведения, установить запрет на проведение митингов в радиусе 500 метров от зданий государственных органов, а также разрешить организацию массовых мероприятий только по будням с 10:00 до 17:00.